那善于管理教会的长老,当以为配受加倍的敬奉。那劳苦传道教导人的,更当如此。
— 提摩太前书5章17节(和合本)

钟南德牧师

郭少奇长老

郭少奇长老

梁耀鸿长老

梁耀鸿长老

盧炳基长老

盧炳基长老

邵志成长老

邵志成长老

温得敏长老

温得敏长老

蒋金河执事

蒋金河执事

黄庆昇执事

黄庆昇执事

萧健哲执事

萧健哲执事

梁荣财执事

梁荣财执事

陈镜耀执事

陈镜耀执事

高荣恩执事

高荣恩执事

教会是上帝所拣选以基督为头的人的社会。在这个立约社里,神已经向耶稣基督掌管教会的工作。耶稣基督是教会那已经立好的根基(哥林多前书3章11节)。祂的真理指引了我们的教义和伦理。祂的诫命是我们圣洁行为的标准。彼得在书信写到关于教会的政府,称耶稣基督为教会的牧人和监督,看守我们的灵魂(彼得前书2章25节)。

但彼得也同时告诉我们,基督已经把某些人当成教会的官员了。这是彼得前书5章1-5中明显的教训。他称这些官员为“长老”。在同一段话中,他告诉我们,这些长老的工作是“牧养群羊”(第2节),“监督”(第2节),而不是作为“辖制所被托付的照管人”(第3节)。在第5节,使徒们劝教会的成员,顺服“长老”。

同样,保罗也强调让某些官员监督教会的重要性。在提摩太前书3章(点击阅读整章),他提出了这些监督者的资格,他称他们为“监督”。但在同一封信中,他也将他们称为“长老”(提摩太前书5章17节)。像彼得一样,保罗将他们的工作为对监督教会。

这两个名称用来强调不同方面的职分。监督这个词意思是“那个监督”,而“长老”这个词表示他的资历和成熟度。但这两个名称是指同一个职分。

在归正教会中,“长老”一词指定被拣选为监督羊群的职分者。他成为同长老加入了教会的仆役,对会众进行了监督。在较大的教会里,通常有两个或以上的长老。但是,在每个教会里,必须有多过一个长老来监督教会。这又是圣经的明确教导。当保罗劝促提多留在克里特岛来安置教会的时候,他指示他“在各城设立长老”。彼得前书5章(点击阅读整章),彼得提到了复数的“长老”。保罗在对以弗所教会告别时,一是一同呼吁众长老。

归正教会深信,有多过一位长老在教会中监督是圣经的教训。我们称这为“多位长老”政策。我们也深信,教会里所有的长老都具有相同的地位和权柄。我们的意思是没有一个是在另一个长老之上。或者没有一个可对他的同事有更高的权力。我们称这种做法是“长老的平等”性。这意味着所有的长老与他人在监督教会时是平等的。彼得前书5章中的段落是有教义性的。彼得虽然是使徒,但他称自己为“同长老”。在使徒行传15章基督教会第一次召开的会议上,使徒和长老聚集一起商议事情(第6节)。

这个多元化和平等的长老执政是我们归正教会政府的独特重点。

在当前的现代教会世界中,常常会在教会中找到女牧师和长老。归正教会抵制了这类现代潮流。我们这样做不是因为我们鄙视妇女的恩赐。事实上,我们申明,教会中的姐妹们可以积极参与儿童主日学和妇女的查经班等。但是,当我们反对妇女当牧师和长老职分时,我们这样做是因为圣经明确的命令。哥林多前书14章35节中,特别是提摩太前书2章11-14节禁止妇女在教会里以任何官方的身份讲道。这就是说他们不能在教会里担任公职,以一种神圣的权利和权柄来监督会众。

保罗为我们描述长老资格的同一个经文中,也概述了执事的资格。虽然执事职分是一个各别的职分,但他们也是长老的同工,也被任命为照顾会众的福祉。

“执事”一词源于希腊文字含有“服侍”意思。归正教会的执事是与教会长老一起服侍的人。

这个职分的起源在使徒行传6章(点击阅读整章)。教会向使徒们发怨言,希腊寡妇在日常工作中被忽略了。使徒们指导教会来选出七名男子,他们依次指定“管理饭食”,关心寡妇。使徒将这七名“仆人”任命为新约第一代执事,以便他们自己可以集中精力进行讲道和祷告。

腓立比徒1章1节中,保罗在开始对腓力比教会的信中,他也向“长老和执事”问候。从这段经文中,连同提摩太后书3中的段落,我们以看到新约中的执事办公室确实是一个正式的机构。

执事在教会中很重要。他们被任命为可以为穷人和有需要的人提供照料。他们在这个代表主耶稣基督的职分里工作。执事不是社会工作者出钱纾缓受苦的人。他们在执行工作时,代表基督,向会众内外被剥夺和被压迫者宣称耶稣的怜悯。

Let the elders that rule well be counted worthy of double honour, especially they who labour in the word and doctrine.
— 1 Timothy 5:17 (KJV)

Pastor Chong Nam Tuck

Elder Daniel Kwek

Elder Daniel Kwek

Elder Leong Yew Hoong

Elder Leong Yew Hoong

Elder Lim Wee Beng

Elder Lim Wee Beng

Elder Loh Peng Kee

Elder Loh Peng Kee

Elder Siew Chee Seng

Elder Siew Chee Seng

Elder Wilson Oon

Elder Wilson Oon

Deacon Jason Chew

Deacon Jason Chew

Deacon Joel Seow

Deacon Joel Seow

Deacon Lim Wee Long

Deacon Lim Wee Long

Deacon R Mohan

Deacon R Mohan

Deacon Tan Keah Yeow

Deacon Tan Keah Yeow

Deacon Timotheus Koh

Deacon Timotheus Koh

The Church is a society of God’s chosen people with Christ as the Head. And in this covenant community, God has given to Jesus Christ the work of ruling over the Church. The words of Jesus Christ forms the foundation of the Church (1 Corinthians 3:11). His truth directs our doctrine and ethics. His precepts are our standards for holy conduct. Peter, in writing about the government of the Church, calls Jesus Christ the Shepherd and Bishop of the Church who watches over our souls (1 Peter 2:25).

But Peter also at the same time tells us that Christ has put certain men to be officers in the Church. This is the obvious teaching in 1 Peter 5:1-5. He calls these officers ‘elders’. In the same passage, he informs us that the work of these elders is to ‘feed the flock’ (verse 2), ‘taking the oversight thereof’ (verse 2), but not as being ‘lords over God’s heritage’ (verse 3). And in verse 5, the apostle exhorts the members of the Church to submit unto the ‘elders’.

Likewise, Paul also stressed the importance of having certain officers to rule in the Church. In 1 Timothy 3 (click to read whole chapter) where he sets forth the qualifications of these rulers, he calls them ‘bishops’. But in the same letter, he also designates them as ‘elders’ (1 Timothy 5:17). Like Peter, Paul describes their work as one of ruling over the Church.

The two different terms are used to highlight the different aspect of the office of elders. The word bishop means ‘the one who watches over’, and the word elder designates his seniority and maturity. But the two terms refer to the same office.

In the Reformed churches, the term ‘elder’ is used to designate the office bearer who is chosen to rule over the flock. He joins the minister in the Church as a fellow elder, taking oversight of the congregation. In larger churches there are usually more than two elders. But in every church, there must be more than one elder to rule over the Church. This is again a clear teaching of the Bible. When Paul urge Titus to remain in Crete to set the Church in order, he instructed him to ‘appoint elders in every city’. Also the passage in 1 Peter 5 (click to read whole chapter), Peter spoke of ‘elders’ in the plural. In his farewell speech to the leaders of the church in Ephesus, Paul called the elders together.

The Reformed church is convinced that having more than one elder to rule in the Church is the teaching of the Bible. We call this practice the ‘plurality of elders’. We are also convinced that all the elders in the Church share the same status and share of authority. By this, we mean that no one elder is above another fellow elder. Or no one elder may have a higher exercise of power over his fellow colleagues. We call this practice the ‘parity of elders’. This means that all the elders are at par one with another in their rule over the Church. Again the passage in 1 Peter 5 is instructive. Although Peter was an apostle, he calls himself a ‘fellow elder’. Also in the first synodical meeting of the Christian church in Acts 15, the apostles and the elders came together to consider the matters (verse 6).

This plurality and parity of the eldership is a unique emphasis of our Reformed Church government.

In today’s modern church world, it is common to find women ministers and elders ruling in the Church. The Reformed Church resists this modern trend. We do so not because we despise the gift of women. In fact, we affirm that sisters in the Church may be active in children Sunday School and women’s Bible study etc. But when we oppose women in office, we do so because of a clear mandate from Scripture. The Bible in 1 Corinthians 14:35 and especially 1 Timothy 2:11-14 forbids women to teach in the Church in any official capacity. By this, we mean that they may not assume an official position as office bearer in the Church, ruling over the congregation with a divine right and power.

In the same passage where Paul delineates for us the qualifications of elders, he also outlines the qualifications for deacons. Although the office of deacons is a separate office, they are nevertheless fellow officers with the elders appointed also to care for the well-being of congregation.

The word ‘deacon’ is derived from a Greek word that carries the meaning of ‘service’. A deacon in the Reformed Church is one who serves alongside the elders in the Church.

The origin of this office is found in Acts 6. The church brought a complaint to the apostles that the Grecian widows were neglected in the daily work. The apostles’ responded by directing the Church to select seven men whom they in turn may appoint to ‘serve tables’ and care for the widows. The apostles appointed these seven ‘servants’ as the first New Testament deacons in order that they themselves may concentrate in the work of preaching and praying.

In Philippians 1:1 where Paul opens his letter to the Church in Philippi, he directs his greetings also to the ‘bishops and deacons’. From this passage, together with the passage in 1 Timothy 3, we may gather that the office of deacons in the New Testament was indeed a formal institution.

Deacons are important in the Church. They are appointed so that the poor and needy may be provided for. They function in this office representing the Lord Jesus Christ. Deacons are not social workers handing out money to relieve the afflicted. In carrying out their work, they speak on behalf of Christ, proclaiming his mercies to the deprived and oppressed within and without the congregation.